01 / Surgery and post-op records
What the procedures reveal
Three findings a vet or facility manager would stop on.
8of 12
have the lab do the daily checks. The rest don't say who, and none names facility staff.
4of 12
print when to call the vet on the record itself: a code, a score or "contact the vet if".
4of 12
build in more than one check or dose a day, up to every 8 to 12 hours for 72 hours.
02 / Surgery and post-op records
Where do facilities part ways?
One path from the lab's daily checks to the vet, and the three points where the 12 facilities split.
The lab does the daily checks
Step · 8 of 12
8 of 12
Where does the record live?
Facilities split · 4 ways
A cage tag, the record in the room
4 of 12
A facility form the lab keeps
4 of 12
The card on the cage
3 of 12
A sheet per protocol
1 of 12
Who at the facility is in the loop?
Facilities split · 3 ways
Vet staff or a vet tech
6 of 12Most common
A vet
2 of 12
Husbandry and animal care staff
2 of 12
Not stated · 2 of 12
How does the problem reach them?
Facilities split · 2 ways
Direct contact, channel not named
6 of 12Most common
A phone call
2 of 12
Not stated · 4 of 12
03 / Surgery and post-op records
Where does the post-op record live?
The first fork, way by way: where the record is kept and how room staff learn of it.
A tag on the cage, the record in the room
A sticker, card or sign flags the animal; the full record sits in the animal room, in a folder or a log.
4 of 12A facility form the lab keeps
A template the lab fills in and keeps, not tied to the cage.
4 of 12The card on the cage
The card in the holder is the record: the surgery on the front, the daily checks on the back.
3 of 12A sheet per protocol
No standard form. A monitoring checklist is written for each protocol and approved with it.
1 of 12
5 of 12 state that the same facts are kept in two places, such as a cage sticker and the record. The record is one per animal at 4, one per cage at 3, and a group sheet is allowed at 3.
04 / Surgery and post-op records
What should a rodent post-op record contain?
The fields facilities' records carry, with how many of 12 carry each one.
Rodent surgery and post-op record
Used by, out of 12 facilities’ forms
- Surgery recorded
- Daily checks
- Vet alerted
- Checks complete
The surgery
- AnimalLink: SoftMouse animal9 of 12
- Cage *Link: SoftMouse cage2 of 12
- Species *Dropdown
Mouse · Rat · Other rodent · Other
7 of 12 - Protocol *Text9 of 12
- PI *User8 of 12
- Surgeon *User9 of 12
- Procedure *Text10 of 12
- Surgery date (Day 0) *Date and time9 of 12
- Weight before surgeryNumber6 of 12
- Out-of-hours contactText3 of 12
- Check untilDate2 of 12
Anesthesia and drugs
- Drugs given *Table10 of 12
- Anesthesia startedDate and time4 of 12
- Anesthesia checksTable4 of 12
- Recovered atDate and time4 of 12
- ComplicationsRich text3 of 12
Daily checks opens when the workflow reaches it
- Checks *Table12 of 12
- Needs the vetCheckbox4 of 12
- Sutures out onDate3 of 12
Vet opens when the workflow reaches it
- Vet's advice *Rich textfor the workflow
- Seen by *Userfor the workflow
11 of 12 log each post-op analgesic dose, and 10 each the procedure, the anesthetic drugs and the animal's general condition. 2 have a pain field. A suture removal day is set at 7 of 12, from 5 to 14 days after surgery.
05 / Surgery and post-op records
Find your starting point
Answer yes or no to find the facilities that work the way yours does.
Question 1
Are the daily post-op checks written on a card in the cage card holder?
See every question
- Are the daily post-op checks written on a card in the cage card holder?
- Is the record kept in the animal room, with a tag or sign on the cage?
- Does your facility or IACUC give you a standard form for it?
- A tag on the cage, the record in the room: You work like 4 of the 12 facilities we read. Creating the record emails the room team, and the tag can stay.
- A facility form the lab keeps: You work like 4 of the 12. The record replaces the template, and room staff can read it.
- The card on the cage: You work like 3 of the 12. The card stays in the holder with the record number on it.
- A sheet per protocol: You work like 1 of the 12. A surgery class field opens the checks that protocol needs.
06 / Surgery and post-op records
What do the rules ask for?
Post-op care and pain relief, with records. For purpose-bred mice and rats, the duty comes from the Guide, PHS Policy and the institution.
- Animal Welfare Act regulations: surgery must include appropriate pre- and post-operative care, and painful procedures need anesthetics or analgesics unless withholding them is justified in writing (9 CFR 2.31). They do not cover purpose-bred mice and rats.
- The Guide, as guidance: surgical planning says who does post-op monitoring, care and recordkeeping; anesthetic monitoring is documented; animals are observed often after surgery, with attention to pain.
- CCAC guidelines (Canada): records for anesthesia, surgery and post-op care, with the type, dose, site and route of each drug.
- A 2023 USDA inspection report cited a surgical card missing one day's required check. The animal was found dead the next day of a reopened incision.
07 / Surgery and post-op records
How does Streamcell run it?
The default is the facility form the lab keeps, as a record room staff can read.
Surgery
Noor Adler operates on 7756 under ISH-1009 and records the surgery, the drugs and the recovery.
Room told
Creating the record emails the husbandry staff, so Priya Sood knows the cage is post-op.
Daily checks
Each check is a row on the record. On day 2 the lab marks the incision swollen and ticks Needs the vet.
Vet
Jules Ferreira is emailed, and Robin Mace's advice goes back to the surgeon and the PI. If it becomes a case, the vet opens HC-0185 and links it.
Each morning at 08:00 the surgeon and PI are emailed for every record still in daily checks. Checks every 8 to 12 hours go in the table as they happen. Incision and condition alerts run as two workflows, because Streamcell has no if-then step.
08 / Surgery and post-op records
The research behind this guide
We read the public procedures and rodent surgery forms of 12 research animal facilities in the US and Canada, all universities, in October 2026. Counts are facilities, not documents.